Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Elegant symphonies by François-Joseph Gossec reissued

These Concerto Köln performances of Gossec symphonies first appeared in 2003. This remastered version cleans up the sound a little but otherwise seems to have left the recordings alone.

The Concerto Köln has a full but not heavy ensemble sound, and play with straightforward clarity. It's a sound that's well-suited to Gossec's music.

François-Joseph Gossec was a major force in 1780s Parisian music scene. In addition to being one of France's most celebrated composers, he also organized a concert series that introduced Haydn's symphonies to the French public.

Gossec's own symphonies share some of Haydn's aesthetic. They're carefully constructed, with well-formed melodies and pleasingly balanced movements. They also have a certain elegance about them that the Concerto Köln wonderfully conveys.

There aren't many recordings of Gossec symphonies available. Glad to have this one back in circulation.

François-Joseph Gossec: Symphonies
Concerto Köln; Werner Ehrhardt, conductor
Capriccio Encore C8019

No comments:

Post a Comment